top of page
  • seniorcoordinator

9 Indian Female Broadcast Journalists We Need to Know About

Let's celebrate these Badass Journalists in time for NATIONAL BROADCASTING DAY

as compiled by ScoopWhoop

1. Rana Ayyub - A former Tehelka investigative journalist, who resigned to protest against the company's mishandling of a sexual assault charge of a fellow reporter, Rana is now a Global Opinions Writer for The Washington Post. She is the author of Gujarat Files: Anatomy of a Cover Up of Godhra Train Burning, and was awarded

the Resilient Global journalist at the Peace Palace in Hague in 2018 and also received the McGill award for journalistic courage in 2020.

2. Faye D'Souza - Having started her journalistic journey at All India Radio, former executive editor of Mirror Now, today Faye D'Souza is the most preferred source of accurate information when it comes to reportage against corruption, current politics, communal violence, governmental inadequacies. This fearless reporter has been awarded the RedInk Award for ‘Journalist of the Year’ in 2018.

3. Nidhi Razdan - Recipient of the Ramnath Goenka Award for Excellence in Journalism for reporting from J&K and Northern India and many other awards, Nidhi Razdan is most recognisable from NDTV Left Right Centre and The Big Fight and is currently the executive editor at the agency.

4. Shaili Chopra - Founder of SheThePeopleTV, Shaili Chopra is an indian business journalist for which she has won a Ramnath Goenka Excellence Award. She has authored 4 books and has previously worked at NDTV Profit and ET NOW. She won the News Television Award for the Best English Reporter across India and her business-golf show Business on Course, won the Best Show Award. Chopra has also won the Best Business Anchor Award and was felicitated with FICCI's Woman Achiever Award.

5. Madhu Trehan - Journalist and the founding editor of the Indian news magazine India Today, Madhu Trehan had began her career by working in the press department of the United Nations. Today, she is the co-founder and editor-in-chief of a digital media portal called Newslaundry.

6. Shereen Bhan - A corporate and economic news reporter, Shereen has anchored and produced shows like The Young Turks, India Business Hour, The Nation's Business among others. Her work in the field has been acknowledged with the 2005 'FICCI Woman of the Year' award and the World Economic Forum named her as one of the Young Global Leaders of 2009.

7. Sharda Ugra - The woman to have inspired women's interest and aspiring female journalists in the field of Sports Journalism for 23 years, Sharda is now a senior editor with ESPNcricinfo and a leading face in the predominantly male industry.

8. Gauri Lankesh - The journalist who fought for and was assassinated for her courageous activism against Right-Wing Hindu Extremism, Gauri Lankesh was known for her activism against caste-based discrimination, and was an advocate for women's rights. Her sad demise sparked the #IfWeDoNotRise Campaign for the safety of Indian Journalists.

9. Homai Vyarawalla - Aka Dalda-13, India's first photojournalist and recipient of Padma Vibhushan Award, Homai began her career by having to publish her pictures with her husband's name, later adopting the pseudonym. She had worked for The Illustrated Weekly of India Magazine and later with the British Information Services and has recorded many political and national leaders in the period leading up to independence, including Mohandas Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Mohammed Ali Jinnah etc.

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page